Review: Sushi Station

Image

by Serena Piper

If you don’t eat sushi, before you skip over this article, let me just preface it by saying Sushi Station in Eugene doesn’t just serve traditional sushi. If you’re not into rolled up circles of seaweed, crab, and raw fish, you can feel free to order grilled seafood or meat, tempura, noodles, soups, and salads.

It must be said, however, that sushi is an experience of its own. Ordering something else is like going to a Mexican restaurant and ordering a cheeseburger. You just don’t. So, if you go to Sushi Station, order actual sushi, please. (There are cooked and vegetarian sushi options too.)

For more fun, sit at the bar

At Sushi Station, there’s the regular seating area and then there’s the “bar.” The bar includes a conveyer belt that carries plates of freshly prepared sushi from the kitchen. As food goes by, diners can grab their favorite dishes. All the dishes on the track are the same size, but offer a nice variety.

I would recommend sitting at the bar as opposed to sitting in the regular dining area. My first time at Sushi Station I sat at the bar, and I’m so happy I did; it just seems to give more of an authentic feeling. If you sit in the dining area, you take a look at the menu and just give your order to the waitress. At the bar, you can do that, and you can also grab something from the track to munch on while your order is prepared. Also, you have a front seat to watch the chefs prepare the sushi dishes. It’s really interesting to watch them put dishes together, and it has inspired me to attempt making my own sushi. (Don’t worry, I’ll post results when I do it.)

A great combination…

There are six different-colored plates priced from $1.25 to $6.25. My friend and I ordered our appetizer first, an 11-piece spider roll dish. Spider rolls are soft shell crab tempura, cucumber, masago and tempura crumbs drizzled with unagi sauce, and my oh my is it delicious and filling. After our appetizer, I ordered a small plate of the paradise roll, which is shrimp tempura, toasted coconut flakes and avocado. My dish came with some cucumber and cream cheese too, so it wasn’t very spicy at all (some sushi dishes are). Cream cheese and sushi together are a great combination which I’d never seen in sushi rolls before.

Overall, if you’re looking for an inexpensive, healthy, and filling restaurant to have a meal at, Sushi Station is your place. On Thursday nights they have a magician perform. He walks around to different tables showing diners really cool tricks—and sometimes you even get to keep one of his props.

Where & when

Sushi Station
199 East 5th Avenue, #6
Eugene, OR 97401
(541) 484-1334
http://www.eugenesushi.biz/ 

Hours:
Monday – Saturday: 11:30 am – 10:00 pm
Sunday: 11:30 am – 9:00 pm

Prices: $$

Leave a Reply

